Summer 2015 Favorites

Hey Nerds & Nerdettes! Summer is coming to an end and Fall is approaching fast (hello Pumpkin Spice lattes!). So which products were heating up my makeup bag this Summer? Let’s find out…

PhotoGrid_1439902809800 (1)

 

I always get excited for new Summer collections, for one, they always seem to include a lot more skin care or “give me beautiful mermaid skin” type makeup. I find myself being more bold with my makeup, which means more bright eyeshadows and bright lips (not at the same time but hey whatever floats your boat!) and this Summer was certainly no exception. There were so many awesome products that I got to try this Summer that it was almost a little overwhelming! I can’t wait to share with you guys my favorites, so here we go!

2015-08-18 09.11.59

 

❤ Face ❤

1. Too Faced HangoveRx Replenishing Face Primer $32

Any product that has coconut water must be hydrating right? Honestly, in the cold months I really don’t bother with prIimer, since it’s so dry here in the Fall and Winter there really isn’t a need for it. Once Summer humidity is in full affect here, I need all the help I can get! This primer smells like yummy coconut, and keeps my foundation in place during many family barbecues (ours can last well into the evening).

The reason this primer is my favorite though, it’s been a lovely substitute for my light moisturizer, it’s very hydrating and feels like I used a luxurious lotion. For all my combination or oily skin nerds, this primer is perfect! It is very hydrating without being overly hydrating.

2. Maybelline Dream Bronze BB Cream in Light/Medium $8

I have to admit, when I first tried this BB cream I hated it. The shade match was good, but after I applied it my face looked like I had dipped my face in oil. I’m not one to give up easily, so I tried mixing a little of this bronze BB cream in with my foundation and voila! No more greasy pizza face! It gave me a subtle bronze, dewy look that mimicked a day spent on the beach. The only downside, since only a small amount is needed to achieve this bronze look, I won’t be able to finish this product before my tan fades.

3. Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation in #228 Soft Tan $6

I had a “first world problems” situation this Summer (cue the world’s smallest violin haha). I spent more time outdoors with my family and lounging poolside with kiddies this Summer that my Summer foundation was too light for me! I had heard mostly awesome things about this drugstore foundation so I gave it a try and I’m so glad I did. It gives me a demi-matte finish, erased my (sadly) visible, large pores without giving me cake face, and lasted well into late night sushi & wine dates with the fiance. I will definitely be picking up a lighter shade once my tan fades!

4. Smashbox Camera Ready BB Water in Light/Neutral $42

When this product first came out I was obsessed. It was like the makeup gods had made this product just for me! Since I had been excited about products before  and been devastated it was a fail, I was hesitant to make the same mistake again (for like a second). Although this BB water has a hefty price tag, I’m so glad I got it.

It gives me that dewy “you’re skin but better” appearance that is perfect for Summer! My problem with most luminous or “dewy skin” face products, they feel so heavy on my face that it’s uncomfortable to wear. However, this BB water feels like I’ve got nothing on while still somehow keeping my face hydrated. I love, love, L-O-V-E, love this product!

5. Too Faced Love Flush Blush in How Deep Is Your Love? $26

I know it’s crazy to buy a product based on how cute the product looks but come on…

2015-08-18 09.10.18

                                How cute is this blush?!!

The case reminds me of my old Polly Pockets toys (90’s girl flashback) and the blush itself is just so damn cute. So after my squee moment, I wondered, was this blush as amazing as the package? As always, Too Faced makes another awesome product and my wallet cries “nooooo!” This blush is the perfect pinky coral for Summer that is blends like a dream. Although Too Faced claims that this is a longwear blush with a wear time of 16 hours, I found that this blush lasted about ten hours before I noticed any fading. As long as this blush lasted through the many family barbecues (we like to part-ay!) I attended I knew it would be a winner.

6. BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed $38

I have to admit, before I bought this I really didn’t know who Jaclyn Hill was (don’t shoot me!). I had bought this because BECCA Cosmetics, in my opinion, makes the best highlighters, hands down. Once I bought this gorgeous highlighter, I was like Gollum in Lord of the Rings.

My precious!!

                                                      My precious!!

I love strobing with this highlighter for the “out of this world” gorgeous glow. This powder highlighter, like all of BECCA Cosmetic’s pressed powder highlighters has the perfect buttery soft texture that makes it easy to apply. I recommend applying this with a fan brush (I love using my Crown Brush Jumbo Kabuki Fan Brush) and a light hand for a subtle glow, but the great thing about these highlighters, they are very buildable and can be sheered out for whichever intensity you prefer.

Side note: After purchasing this highlighter I binge watched Jaclyn Hill’s YouTube channel and she is amazing!

 

2015-08-18 09.05.11

 

❤ Lips ❤

1. Maybelline Lip Studio Color Blur Matte Lip Pencil in Orange Ya Glad & I Like To Mauve It $8

I stumbled upon these lip pencils at Walmart when I was on the hunt for those mask packs you get for like $2 and are amazing. These lip pencils reminded me of the E.L.F. Studio Matte Lip Pencils but with more bright color choice. I am always hesitant to use matte lipsticks, for one my lips are usually dry and they always accentuate my dry patches, whether I exfoliate them before application or not. However, these pencils are very creamy and don’t really dry to an ultra matte like some.

I love that these pencils come with a rubber “blurrer” (blurrer? yeah that’s what I’m calling it) to blend out the lip color. In my opinion, it helps the color stay put on my lips longer without compromising the color or pigmentation. Orange Ya Glad is a true orange matte shade, when I wore this to a Fourth of July bash, after a few glasses of wine, I noticed that the lip color was still intact with very minimal transfer and even left a stain after it wore off after about eight hours of wear. I Like To Mauve It is a pinky brown shade and also the only neutral shade in this line of lip pencils. The color reminds me of the Kat Von D Studded Lipstick in Lovecraft but more pink, or L’Oreal Infallible Le Rouge Lipstick in Unending Kiss. I need to find the other shades in this collection cause they are pure awesomeness!

2. Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Matte Test Tubes in Nylon, Grandma & Trollop $18 full size

I had originally bought these as a holiday set last year, but I haven’t really used much of the brighter shades from the set. I decided this summer to test them out and once again I felt like I had been missing out on these my whole life. I must admit that I try not to go out of my beauty comfort zone, but this Summer I definitely got out of my neutral eyeshadow and neutral lip routine I tend to gravitate towards during the rest of the year. These lip tars, OMG these lip tars! I loved applying these with the lip brush they came with, which at first was a bit intimidating, but actually very easy once I got the hang of it.

What I absolutely love about the OCC Lip Tars, they are so pigmented that literally a drop is enough for my lips. Nylon is a bright bubblegum pink shade that I tested out at brunch one day and it lasted about five hours which is pretty good considering I was stuffing my face with pastries and juice haha. Grandma is a coral shade and was one of the few that dried to almost a ultra matte finish with a wear time of about six hours. Trollop is a hot pink coral shade that was my go to this Summer lipstick that got me a few funny looks when I was asked what color lipstick I was wearing. The wear time for Trollop was about six hours before I noticed moderate fading.

2015-08-18 09.03.41

 

❤ Eyes ❤

1. Urban Decay Subversion Lash Primer & Perversion Mascara Set  $22

Since the release of Too Faced’s Better Than Sex Mascara back in the Summer of 2013 I have yet to find a mascara that could replace it as my HG mascara…enter in Urban Decay Perversion. Throughout most of 2014 I had received many deluxe samples of this mascara with Urban Decay palettes or sets I purchased so my love for this mascara has been running deep for quite some time now. So why is this in my Summer 2015 Favorites you ask?  This is my first full size tube and as we all know, deluxe samples are not always the same as the full size version!

This set which retails for $22 was, to me, a better price than paying for just the mascara alone. With this you get the full size mascara and a deluxe sample Subversion Lash Primer. I have very sensitive eyes so most lash primers irritate the hell out of my eyes, so when I first tested out the lash primer I was very anxious of what kind of hot poker to the eyes torture it was going to do to me. Firstly, this lash primer is different from most in that it doesn’t come out like a powdery mess or clumps your lashes up once you add mascara. Instead, it adds a nice even layer before you apply mascara, and if you’re wondering whether this only works with Perversion, I tested it out with my Benefit Roller Lash Mascara and Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara and it worked great with both!

When I pair Subversion Lash Primer and Perversion Mascara I get tons of volume and length that leaves my fellow beauty addict friends asking if I’m wearing falsies and a “You’re full of it” when I tell them no haha.

2. Colourpop Birthday Girl Super Shock Shadow $15

First off, if you guys are wondering why the retail price is $15 when it was a free gift with Colourpop orders, I had just missed this awesome freebie when I had ordered off their website, so I had bid for it on eBay (and won woohoo! no judgement please haha). When I saw the hot pink case and cute little iridescent gem on top I knew I had to have it! Fellow nerds when I say that this eyeshadow has the most sparkley awesomeness ever I am not lying. It swatches as a bronzey brown with tons of gold glitter in it (it’s so pretty I could cry!). I love wearing this just on my lid for a simple day look with a nice winged liner and a bright lip color. I might have to ration this eyeshadow so I never run out!

 

And last but certainly not least (if you’re still with me hopefully!)….

2015-08-18 09.07.57

 

❤ Palettes ❤

1. Urban Decay Naked Smoky Eyeshadow Palette $54

I think out of all the Naked palette releases, this was the one I was most excited for. I am a sucker for greys, taupes, purples and browns so this palette was right up my alley! My only issue with this palette (a minor issue) the matte shades apply kind of patchy, but with a good primer I had no problem with the mattes. This palette like many Urban Decay eyeshadows has a buttery soft texture with awesome pigmentation. I love blending “Armor” and “Smolder” into my outer crease and lower lash line for a super smoky eye. Most of the eyeshadows have a wear of eight or more hours when used with an eyeshadow primer.

2. Too Faced Love Palette $49

Funny story! For my birthday, my dad asked me what I wanted so I jokingly said I wanted the Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette. So not thinking twice, I went to ULTA and bought it for myself with my birthday coupon and was pleased as punch. Fast forward to my birthday, I’m opening the gift from my dad and what did he get me? Damned if he didn’t get me the Urban Decay Naked Smoky, I bought died from laughter! I just imagined my father going into ULTA and asking for it and saying “I don’t know she said she wanted something naked!” After hugging him and laughing about it for most of the evening I knew I’d be returning his gift for the another palette I’ve had my eyes on.

The Too Faced Love Palette is the cutest eyeshadow palette with it’s mixture of heart shaped eyeshadows and heart stamped eyeshadows how could you not fall in love with Love…palette?! It’s hard for me to not hand Too Faced all my money when they release new palettes, they never disappoint when it comes to packaging, quality or price point. As always, these eyeshadows are buttery soft with none to very little fallout with a wear time of eight hours before I noticed any fading.

3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Shadow Couture World Traveler Eyeshadow Palette $30

This palette is the epitome of bright and colorful eyeshadows for Summer! With beautiful neutrals and brights, this palette has become my absolute favorite palette for the Summer. I love using “Morocco” as a transition shade in my crease and  “Azure” on my lid with “Noir” blended into my outer crease.

IMG_20150815_104847

 

This was my first Anastasia Beverly Hills eyeshadow palette and I am just blown away with the quality. These eyeshadows are super pigmented with a buttery soft texture that blends effortlessly. Seriously, this palette is the shit!

4. E.L.F Studio Blush Palette in Light $6

This blush palette was picked up as an emergency from Target when I had no makeup packed in my rushed overnight bag when I first came to help out my sister. I had been eyeing this palette for sometime but I find most E.L.F. face products are hit or miss so I wasn’t in a hurry to purchase. Add this to the list of hits! These blushes are very pigmented and have a wear time of about six hours before it begins to wear off. The only downside is when I go to pick up product, the blushes are very powdery so a lot gets kicked up from my brush. The lightest shade in the palette is perfect shade for a natural “flushed” look.

 

Here’s an obligatory shot of the gorgeousness inside these palettes…

2015-08-18 09.06.39

 

 

Now that Summer is coming to an end I now look forward to what is approaching towards the end of the year, new Star Wars (come on December!), Halloween, pumpkin patches, and combat boots!

 

Were any of my favorites on your list? Leave a comment!

newcreate.php 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

