April Favorites

Happy Friday and May the 1st nerds & nerdettes! The month of April is over, which means it’s even closer to Summer (hello flip flops and barbecues). I always love the end of the month in the blogger/vlogger community for one reason…monthly favorites! I decided to skip this week’s Friday Favorites and give you guys something better.
The Makeup Nerd’s…

image

Some of this month’s favorites you’ll recognize from last week’s Friday Favorites post.

image

LUSH Cosmetics Yummy Mummy Shower Gel $29.95 USD

This strawberry scented shower gel smells so yummy! To me the scent is a cross between honey and strawberries but gives a lingering scent of another LUSH favorite of mine…Snow Fairy! I’m so glad I bought a large bottle of this yummy scented shower gel.

image

Drybar Hot Toddy Heat & UV Protectant Cream $30 USD

This styling lotion has been the answer to my many many hair issues. Flat, frizzy, dry, and lackluster to name a few. When I apply this lotion and blow dry my hair, I have what my fiancé calls “bow chicka bow wow” hair haha. Tons of body, smooth and shiny locks, and most importantly NO FRIZZ!

This lotion also has a lovely floral scent that lingers in my hair all day, a major plus in my book!

image

NYX Cosmetics Color Correcting CC Cream in Light/Medium Lavender, Green & Peach $13.99 USD

These color correcting creams have replaced my holy grail face primer! The lavender and green shade is perfect at toning down my patchy red areas on my face and evening out my complexion. I like to use the peach shade on my dark circles to prep for concealer, and since I’ve been using this, I’ve noticed I use less concealer on my dark circles.

image

Mizon Returning Starfish Eye Cream $32 USD

Is it wrong to purchase something based on how gorgeous the packaging is? I hope not, this is how this beauty was purchased! After my longtime favorite eye cream ran out, I decided this was a great time to test out the pretty packaged eye cream. I’m so glad I did!

This eye cream is a thick jelly like texture that reminds me of memory foam.

image

Why memory foam you ask? After I dip the spatula provided to get the product out, within the hour you wouldn’t have even known it was touched! Very cool, but kind of creepy. This eye cream is very hydrating to the skin, I noticed after applying in the evening, my under eye area was still very hydrated and soft…the next day!

image

Too Faced Natural Matte Eyeshadow Palette $36 USD

I have been using more matte eyeshadows recently but still hadn’t found a matte eyeshadow that wasn’t ultra powdery and blended effortlessly. Insert Too Faced Natural Matte Eyeshadow Palette. I love this palette! This palette contains nine, warm toned, matte eyeshadows that can compliment each other to make endless eye looks. These beauties blend so well and last for up to eight hours on me before any fading occurs.

Plus how gorgeous is the case?!

image

I love that Too Faced switched to tin cases!

image

Julep Nail Polish in Randi, Danielle & Angie $20 USD (monthly subscription box)

Once the warm weather started I immediately did two things: I retired my UGGs till Fall, and I swapped my black mani/pedi for some bright nail polish! These nail polishes came just in time. All three shades apply beautifully and lasted about a week before any visible signs of chipping.

image

Sonia Kashuk Sahara Sunset Blush in Casablanca $11.99 USD

This blush is such a beautiful shade of peachy coral. Sadly, my camera just couldn’t capture it’s true beauty. This blush can be applied directly to the apples of your cheeks and blended out with a brush (I recommend this last step as this blush is very pigmented). What I like to do is use my Real Techniques Blush Brush, swirl then tap excess blush and apply to my cheeks.

This is the perfect blush for Spring!

image

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara $24 USD

I have had not-so-good experiences with eyelash curlers. So as a result, my straight lashes don’t take full advantage of most mascaras. With this mascara, you’d never even know! Benefit Roller Lash lifts, seperates, lengthens, curls and gives my lashes volume! Hell, we’ll just refer to this mascara as “everything but the kitchen sink” since this baby does it all!

image

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette $58 USD

I love highlighters, probably a little too much. However, some highlighters can exaggerate large pores (my personal hell) by having too much glitter or shimmer. The middle powder Incandescent Light, adds the perfect highlight to my face. This powder gives me the perfect “lit from within” glow.

image

LUSH Cosmetics Jason and the Argan Oil Shampoo Bar $9.95 USD

Oh my glob! Hold on. *sniffs*

Ugh this shampoo bar smells like heaven! When I heard LUSH was releasing a Rose Jam scented shampoo bar I. Lost. My. Shit. I am so in love obsessed with all things Rose Jam scented. Besides the intoxicating smell, Jason and the Argan Oil Shampoo Bar is a nice alternative to my favorite liquid shampoo. It lathers well and leaves my fine hair more manageable and gives me a good amount of bounce and shine.

image

Conair Illuminations Mirror $60 USD

I really had my eyes on a SimpleHuman Sensor Mirror, but I couldn’t fathom spending $200 on one mirror (that could be spent on MORE makeup). I found this mirror and I love it! It has three lighting settings; Home, Office, and Day. So far my favorite setting is Day, it gives the perfect amount of lighting during makeup application!

*Side note: Tomorrow is Free Comic Book Day! I can’t wait to hit up the comic shop with my fiancé!

Were any of my April Favorites your favorites? Leave a comment!

image

2 thoughts on “April Favorites

    • Thanks Katie! I’ve been thinking about doing either pic tutorials or *maybe* video tutorials, I just need to get over my camera shyness first haha. It definitely helps knowing it’s something you & other followers would want :).

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

