My Summer Loves

First off, how the hell are ya guys?! I know it’s been the better part of a century since I’ve posted! Okay so it hasn’t quite been that long, but I could feel that little blogger in me screaming “Post something, ANYTHING!” So here I am alive and mostly kickin’! I guess I should update everyone on my whereabouts and what the hell I’ve been doing with myself.

The fiance and I (yes fiance, still not married but still very much in love and still saving for our big day) are starting school very soon to better ourselves in both of our careers. I know I’m beyond ecstatic to go back to school, him not so much. That’s okay though cause I know I’m anxious enough for the both of us! Other than that though it’s been a pretty calm year for us. Calm?! Yeah not so much.

I have become quite the multi-tasker. Not only am I a caffeine addicted Preschool teacher, but I am starting my own small batch business with cupcakes and other confections so please stay tuned to see how that works out! Now, onto my purpose for this post. I haven’t posted a favorites entry in quite a while, so hopefully I can get back into everyone’s good graces after this post.

Here are the wonderful products I have been using all summer to keep me looking fresh faced and gorgeous (even when I was usually half asleep and barely able to mutter intelligible sentences without SERIOUS amounts of caffeine)!

FBEF99E767EEBA90E30BCE5561F2DB98

 

20140824_071421

SKINCARE

L’OCCITANE Almond Firming & Softening Supple Oil $42

I got very sunburned this summer! I spent every chance I could at the pool so with that came a couple very bad sunburns. I used this oil after my sunburn got better and it kept my skin from peeling. I love this oil, it leaves my skin soft and moisturized all day and leaves a lingering scent of sweet almond cake.

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre  $28

This cream is very well known in the MUA world as a powerful multi-tasker. It is used as a primer, moisturizer, and makeup remover, plus it can be used as a creamy cleanser! I use this as my daily moisturizer and it keeps my sensitive, blemish prone skin moisturized and can be a wonderful base for applying makeup.

Giovanni Cosmetics D:Tox Purifying Facial Mask $10

With ingredients like volcanic ash and active charcoal to draw out impurities who wouldn’t love this mask? I enjoyed putting this mask in the fridge so it’s a cold treat for my skin on the numerous hot days and nights we had this summer. After I rinsed this mask off I could tell my skin was cleaner, my pores weren’t as large and it kept my oily T-Zone under better control.

LUSH Cosmetics Aqua Marina Face Cleanser $12.95-$31.95

In the summer my T-Zone goes into overdrive while my drier areas get slightly oily (damn you humidity!) so I need a good cleanser that keeps it all under control. This cleanser has all natural ingredients like calamine powder to help calm sensitive, irritated skin, aloe vera gel and nori seaweed to keep skin from drying out and sea salt to gently exfoliate. This cleanser has kept me from having breakouts and helped when I got sunburned.

Pacifica Coconut Water Cleansing Wipes $6 for 30 count pack

Simply put, these were in my purse ALL summer cause they are wonderful for on the go or when you don’t have travel friendly cleansers to pack for weekend trips. I will warn you though, these wipes do remove most makeup, not all. I found eyeliner and mascara still need to be removed by a stronger makeup remover.

20140824_071942

FOUNDATIONS

Boscia B.B. Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 27 PA++ $38

I tend to wear more BB creams in the summer, Bosica BB cream is the best cause it gives me a “Your skin but better” appearance and gives me a fresh, glowing face without clogging my pores.

NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer in St. Moritz $42

Holy guacamole I love this product! This is not a new product in my stash but I love talking about it. This tinted moisturizer that gives a medium coverage with a dewy, radiant finish. This is a must have in my makeup bag!

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in Punjab $45

I seriously believe that NARS have the best products ever! I have yet to find a product from them that is anything less than amazing. The NARS Sheer Glow foundation is quickly becoming my HG foundation. It gives me a beautiful airbrushed look with a lit from within glow.

20140824_072223

CONCEALERS

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Treatment Concealer in Neutralizer $8.99

Honestly, I don’t use a lot of concealers, but after using this concealer I wish I found it sooner! The neutralizer shade is a yellow based concealer that covers my dark circles wonderfully and I love to use it before I use the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit Highlight powder in Banana for highlight.

NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Custard $29

Like I said NARS can do no wrong! This is another lovely yellow based concealer I use when I am highlighting and contouring my face. It’s a nice slightly thicker than liquid concealer but not to thick. I love to use it with a damp BB!

 

20140824_07244620140824_072609

POWDER

Guerlain Meteorites in Medium 03 $60

A lovely powder that I use for a needed boost of radiance all over. I love the smell of these pearls, they have a lovely violet scent that lingers for a bit after application so if you’re not into scents, skip this, but you’re missing out!

NYX Cosmetics Radiant Finishing Powder $8.99

If you’re looking for a dupe of Bobbi Brown’s version of this powder look no further. I found this powder to be slightly too glittery if you’re using a foundation that has a glow or luminous finish. I still love this powder it balances out the redness in my cheeks and makes me look fresh faced.

MAC x Maleficent Beauty Powder in Natural $30

One of my first MAC purchases since the Heavenly Creatures collection but I’m glad I swiped this before it was gone. This is a good pwoder for setting my makeup and gives me coverage for up to 8 hours. Plus I am a sucker for cute packaging and the packaging is adorbs!

 

20140824_073140

CONTOUR

Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit $40

I will openly admit, until I purchased the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit I did not contour, nor had I ever tried to contour. If I could nominate the best product I purchased this year it would be this. When I use this kit I feel like I can contour like a pro and I always end up with a flawless, sculpted face. I recommend the Banana powder for highlighting!

Too Faced Bonjour Soleil Summer Bronzing Wardrobe $44

I initially purchased this for the Sun Bunny Bronzer cause it is my favorite among the many Too Faced bronzers I own. It gives a wonderful sunny glow without having to bake in the sun, but the standout in this palette is the Snow Bunny Luminizer. It gives a beautifully dewy glow on the cheeks!

20140824_073847

BLUSHES

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in Dollface & Exposed $26

I usually don’t use powder blushes in the summer since they don’t last but with Tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12 Hour formula I haven’t had that problem! They last all day with little fade and come in a variety of highly pigmented  matte and shimmer shades.

E.L.F. HD Blush in Headliner & Superstar $3

These are an exact dupe for the MUFE HD Blushes but waaaaay cheaper! I love these, they’re very pigmented and last from morning till night (literally you have to remove it!). These are the two most natural shades out of the collection, Headliner is a light cool pink and Superstar is a peachy pink shade.

Tarte Cheek Stain in Flush $30

Tarte Cheek Stain in Flush is a sheer berry shade that gives a natural flushed look. I use this in the daytime cause unfortunately it is not long wearing, but gives me about 6 hours of wear.

20140824_074709_Richtone(HDR)

EYESHADOW PALETTES

Too Faced Summer Eyes 2013 $36

I tried to come out of my neutral eyes comfort zone this summer and I found this palette is perfect for a nice colorful smokey eye without being too much.

LORAC Pro Palette 2 $42

I do enjoy a nice neutral palette! This is a lovely palette that has 8 matte shades and 8 shimmer shades to create a an array of beautiful eye looks. These have very nice pigmentation and have a wear of 8+ hours.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Eye & Cheek Palette $38

I can only speak for the eyeshadows but these eyeshadows are highly pigmented and wear for about 10 hours without primer!

Too Faced Love Sweet Love & Boudoir Eyes Palette $46 & $36

I put these babies in a small Z Palette quite awhile ago but it got forgotten about for a while until I moved my stash from our bedroom to our spare room (oh yeah I forgot to mention that!). These eyeshadows are mostly nicely pigmented and I love I have 2 palettes in one now!

Kat Von D Esperanza Palette $36

This is another palette that was hidden amongst the clutter before I moved my stuff into our spare room. These have a decent color payoff but require a base in order to get a great color payoff. I loooooove the Dayglo shade to enhance my eyeshadows!

image

SINGLE EYESHADOWS

Milani Bella Eyes Gel Powder Eyeshadows in Bella Champagne, Bella Sand, Bella Rose, Bella Taupe, Bella Grey & Bella Charcoal $3.99

9 times out of 10 I avoid drugstore brand eyeshadows like the plague, they usually have poor pigmentation, chalky texture, and do not last (NYX and a handful of other brands are the exception!). Milani Cosmetics new permanent line of gel powder eyeshadows are INCREDIBLE. The texture is smooth and almost like butter, it blends like a dream and with or without a primer, lasts for over 8+ hours with very minimal wear.

20140824_080009_Richtone(HDR)

EYELINER & MASCARA

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in UltraViolet, Asphyxia & Deep End $20

These pencils are not new but they definitely got more play this summer! I enjoyed using these when I wanted a pop of color on my lower lashline when I wore a neutral eye look. These babies lasted until I took them off at night, so they weren’t kidding with the 24/7 claim! UltraViolet is a violet/blue shimmer shade, Asphyxia is a pink/purple duotone shimmer, and Deep End is a teal almost peacock shimmer shade.

Urban Decay Super Saturated Ultra Intense Waterproof Cream Eyeliner in Perversion $22

This eyeliner has replaced all of my cream or gel liners! I love how black this is, very intense jet black color that stays put all day and night. My only issues are when it is first applied it takes a little while to dry and I definitely had issues when applied to my lower lash line (smudged in under 3 hours giving me major raccoon eyes)!

Urban Decay Lush Lash Mascara $20

The sales lady at ULTA recommended this mascara to me when I told her I had short lashes, and needed a buildable mascara that doesn’t leave my lashes feeling crisp, hello Lush Lash! This mascara claims to help grow lashes while keeping them nourised with the ingredient panthenol. I have noticed during and after wearing this mascara my lashes have made some small growth and feel soft to the touch. I recommend this for anyone who has dry, fragile lashes like me!

L’OREAL Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara $8

This for me has been my HG of mascaras. I love the hell out of this mascara! If I could marry it, believe me, I would! This mascara fixes all my lash problems! It gives insane length and volume without flaking, smudging or giving me crispy lashes! After testing out this mascara, I bought 5 backups! Just in case this is limited edition (please don’t ever leave!). Anytime I wear this I am constantly asked if I have false lashes on, so this mascara is the shit.

Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner $24

I am starting to get the hang of this interesting take on gel liners. It is worth the price for people, like me, that are novices at winged liner. It stays put, I mean put immediately, so apply quickly and enjoy!

20140824_083538

LIPSTICK

Too Faced Lip Injection Color Bomb! Moisture Plumping Lip Tint in Coral Pop $21

This summer was the summer of bright lips for me. I tried to shake up my makeup routine and come out of my nude lip comfort zone. Too Faced Color Bomb Lip Tint in Coral Pop was an easy transition from my usual nude lips. It gives you a little more than a hint of color and the Coral Pop shade is a nice coral/pink shade. I didn’t really care too much for the tingle or the “plumping” aspect of this product, it wasn’t a bad thing, I just don’t use plumping products because my lips are not in need of plumping haha.

Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Peony $21 for full size

I received this deluxe sized sample from Sephora in July and I still have half a tube left! This liquid lipstick is highly pigmented and I only need a very tiny amount for my lips. I don’t see much long wear out of this product, it lasted for about 6 hours with minimal drinking and eating but still a very wonderful product. Peony is a a warm pink shade with a satin finish.

NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in Buenos Aires & Ibiza $5.99

I have a very unhealthy obsession with matte lip products! In all honesty, about 90% of my lip stash is made up off matte lipsticks and matte lip creams. NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams are my absolute favorite and go to for matte lips that stay put all day with no flaking or drying out. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Buenos Aires is a nice dupe for Too Faced Melted in Peony, but with more of a matte finish than the latter. Ibiza is a gorgeous bright pink/red shade that I  reached for more out of all my favorites this summer.

NYX Cosmetics Butter Lipstick in Fireball, Taffy & Pops $6

If you couldn’t tell I looooove NYX Cosmetics! I find it very hard to pick a product from them that isn’t just as amazing as the more prestige brand of cosmetics. These butter lipsticks are wonderful for many reasons. Mainly they apply like a dream, which for most hydrating lip products means poor pigmentation. For these however the majority of these lipsticks are just as pigmented as they are hydrating! Fireball is my absolute favorite color from this line, it’s a hot coral almost neon red color and I enjoy wearing this with a winged liner and some lashes.

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Stained Gloss Test Tube in New Wave $18 for full size

I received this test tube sample in my Sephora Summerstash Bag, which was one of nine samples included from various brands. New Wave is a neon pink/red gloss that is great for a more glossy look without the feel of wearing lip gloss. This gives me the look your lips get after you eat a popsicle(yummy yummy) so it’s a nice hint of color without being too bright.

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Test Tubes in Trollop (matte) & Pris (metallic) $19 for a 3 piece test tube set

This was my first time purchase of any OCC Lip Tars, but I’ve always heard marvelous things about them. I needed to be sure for myself so I purchased this test tube set that included a lip primer and a brush with these lip tars. Trollop is a pinkish coral ad Pris is a champagne metallic shimmer, both have a wear of over 6 hours when there is minimal drinking or eating. Both are lovely colors and can be mixed to create different colors.

20140824_084540

FRAGRANCES

DKNY MYNY Eau De Parfum $68 for 1.7 oz.

Ugh I loooooove this perfume. It reminds me of Gucci Guilty Black which is one of my favorites! I love the smell of any perfume that has pink pepper and patchouli! When I spritz myself in the morning before work the smell lingers up until I get off work at 5 o’clock, so it’s very long lasting.

Thierry Mugler Angel Eau Sucree $80 for 1.7 oz.

First off, can we take a moment to bask in the glory of Angel. I think that the original Angel fragrance is by far the best thing I have ever smelled. Okay now that I have worshipped Angel for a moment on to Angel Eau Sucree! This is a limited edition version of Angel that is slightly sweeter smell than the original and has a slightly less staying power than the original. I like this fragrance for daytime since it is a subdued version of the original, and I notice a sweet scent still lingers into the night.

So that’s my Summer Loves for you guys! I hope you guys are enjoying the short amount of summer we have left! I am anxious for fall and the slightly cooler weather!

wpid-C8D671DD7949EC91B41784A77080C47B.png

3 thoughts on “My Summer Loves

  1. Pingback: A Tour of My Vanity | themakeupnerd

Leave a Reply

