Favorites Of 2012

It’s well into January and February is approaching so I know this is very late post but I have finally had a weekend without plans since November (yay!). 2012 was a very eventful year for me personally as well as professionally, and most importantly the launch of this wonderful blog I have sadly been neglecting as of recent, but I am trying my best to get back into the swing of blogging, working and attempting to have a personal life :). I noticed a lot of my favorite beauty gurus and bloggers have been talking about their favorites of 2012 and I am all about lists so I went through my growing makeup kit and picked out a few products I couldn’t get enough of!

Starting off…

1. Favorite Primer – Too Faced Primed & Poreless

ImageI’ll be honest I don’t normally use a primer because I have tried many and have broken out every time so rather than sacrifice my skin I did without. I received a deluxe size sample of this primer with my Too Faced Love Sweet Love Collection, so I decided what the hell and gave it a shot and I am thrilled I had. Lovely nerds this is my holy grail of primers! I have been using this for a few months now and it is wonderful (such and understatement it’s phenomenal!). I’ve had no breakouts since using it, it makes my skin look airbrushed before I even put on my foundation!

This stuff is so amazing and I wholeheartedly will scream my love for this product from the rooftops :).

2. Favorite Foundation – Make Up For Ever HD Invisible Cover Foundation in Marble

ImageNow I normally stick with the drugstore brands when it comes to my foundation but a co-worker of mine (who also loves makeup as much as me yay!) recommended I try MUFE’s HD foundation. I don’t have a Sephora close to where I live, so usually I order online, but I am always hesitant when it comes to ordering foundation, I lucked out though thanks to Temptalia’s Foundation Matrix, such a lifesaver! This foundation has been replaced by my only other high end foundation (MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC15) not only because I am constantly getting compliments on how great my skin looks, but it feels great on my skin. Most liquid foundations I’ve tried have felt greasy or like I’m wearing a mask but this stuff blends in with my skin wonderfully and photographs beautifully.

3. Favorite Setting Powder – Physician’s Formula Happy Booster Glow & Mood Boosting Translucent Powder

ImageI feel no matter what I say about how amazing this product is it won’t do it justice. It give me this very natural looking glow that doesn’t look like I dipped my face in a bowl of glitter and doesn’t make my large pores visible, two things I’ve always seemed to come across with any powder that claims it will give you a natural “glow.” I will admit this didn’t give me a mood boosting effect, but the smell is quite lovely and I received a lot of compliments whenever I wear this :).

4. Favorite Bronzer & Blush – Too Faced Sun Bunny Bronzer & NARS Orgasm Blush

ImageI finally drank the Kool-Aid and bought the much coveted NARS Orgasm blush! I will admit the $28 price tag was a bit of a gut shot but at first but after testing it out and now wearing it almost every single day I am in love. It is such a great shade for my skin tone and the gold flecks in the blush don’t make my large pores visible, I was sold!

This bronzer was an awesome freebie with my Too Faced order mentioned earlier. It is only a sample size but I’ve had it since November and still have yet to run out! It’s perfect for this time of year for when you still want a hint of color without looking orange or overly bronzed. Once I run out of my sample I will most definitley be picking up the full size of this baby.

5. Favorite Eyeshadow Palettes – NYX Butt Naked Eyes, Too Faced Love Sweet Love, Urban Decay Naked Basics & Too Faced The Return Of Sexy

ImageOkay, so when I say this was the year of the eyeshadow palette for me that is such an understatement! In this year alone I purchased fifteen, that’s right fifteen different eye palettes. I had to tell my fiance to pinch me anytime I think about ordering another (I’ve ordered two more since and no pinches ha!) so when I say this was the year of the palette for me, I mean it. I narrowed it down to these four because they were the most used and that means they were my favorites of course! All of these offered amazing pigmentation with the colors, and were so soft almost creamy when applied. 

6. Favorite Eyeliner – Maybelline Line Stiletto (liquid) & Too Faced Perfect Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner in Perfect Black (pencil)

ImageI have yet to find a liquid liner from Maybelline I don’t adore but this is by far the best they’ve had! It creates very sharp lines and is easy to do tightlines or more bold cat eye looks with this liquid liner. Love it! Too Faced’s Perfect Eyes pencil is another holy grail product for me, it doesn’t drag like the majority of eye pencils do and gives a matte black finish that almost looks like a liquid liner. I love the smudger it comes with for when I do smokey eye looks (which is most of the time) and it lasts the whole work day (12 hours!).

7. Favorite Mascara – Benefit “They’re Real!” Mascara

ImageHoly guacamole is this mascara amazing! I have long lashes but when I use this it looks like I have lash extensions and give me insane volume. I only recommend one, two coats top cause after that you will get serious tarantula eyelashes :).

8. Favorite Brushes – e.l.f. Studio Stipple Brush, Complexion Brush, Small Tapered Brush & Sonia Kashuk Pointed Eyeliner Brush

ImageThese brushes are the bee knees :). I love e.l.f. they have so many wonderful items for a steal and these brushes are, in my opinion, their all stars when it comes to their studio line of brushes. They’re super soft, dense, affordable ($3 come on!) and dupes for the higher end brand of brushes. I’ve had zero shedding with these and after numerous washes have remained just as amazing since I bought them! Sonia Kashuk’s pointed liner brush is my go to anytime I use my gel or cream liner and gives a very precise line, I love this brush!

9. Favorite Brush Cleaner – e.l.f. Studio Daily Brush Cleaner

ImageIf you get like me and get lazy sometimes with brush cleaning this stuff is a lifesaver. I’m sure it gets very tedious to clean all of your brushes cause it certainly gets that way for me! This stuff is so simple and quick, spray the brush swirl off product. Bam! Done.

What were your favorites of 2012? Leave a comment!

Image

Leave a Reply

