To Be Or Not To Be?

Since before I started this blog I’ve always wanted to be a makeup artist, but since I live in Maryland there really isn’t a school dedicated to makeup artistry. Most of the schools are cosmetology and only offer hair or skincare which don’t get me wrong, I’ve always had a shared interest in both but it isn’t something I’m passionate about. I love makeup, I breathe makeup, but it seems like in order to go to school and become certified I’d need to relocate, which is not an option financially or in any other sense. So what to do?

I was googling “online makeup certification” and got quite a few online courses, some seemed legit, a lot just came off as scams. I’m not sure how reliable the information I read was, but in the state of Maryland you don’t need a certificate to be a makeup artist if its freelance, and that makes it easier since there aren’t schools. For me however, I want the schooling to back it up. I am not by any means new to makeup but if I have the chance to become more advance and receive a certificate in doing so, why not?

My question for all the MUAs out there, how does one get their foot in the door to this profession, and is it worth it to get the education?

image

8 thoughts on “To Be Or Not To Be?

  1. I never went to school for makeup but I’m a working makeup artist!
    I started off as freelance but then headed into a couple of spas, gave them my business card, and it was all uphill from there.

    I can’t say I have no “makeup” schooling what-so-ever because I have taken workshops that have been offered in my area. They’re short 3hr workshops and very affordable. I’ve found them on Groupon and other deal sites. Maybe you could look there!

    Goodluck :)

  2. You don’t need to have done a course in makeup artistry, some of the worlds most famous makeup artists were self-taught! Though if you wanted to work your way up through working on makeup stall in department stores or doing makeup for drama studios etc, they are definately more likely to take you in for a job. But if you want to work freelance, then you dont need a qualification, if you have experience and use your own techniques sometimes it can give you a unique style that people would prefer to have. Hope it helped!!!!! :)

  3. I hope you find the answer you are looking for, you do amazing work for someone without schooling experience. I am not good at blending, or some colors i blend too much and you cant see al of my work :( I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

