HD Powder Leaving My Skin in Standard Definiton

I feel like a lot of my recent e.l.f. purchases have become quite the wild card. Usually I’m quite pleased with their products and shocked I found such an affordable product that works as well as the higher end brands. I recently purchased the e.l.f. Studio High Definition Powder and heard a rumor it was a dupe to Make Up Forever’s HD Microfinish Powder, so I knew I had to pick it up to see for myself.

I used this powder a few times during my makeup applications instead of my usual Rimmel Stay Matte Translucent Powder. This powder is super fine and soft and made my skin feel very soft after I applied as a finishing powder. However, I do have a few issues with this product. For starters, although it leaves a lovely matte coverage and I didn’t need to touch up for 6 hours, I noticed after initially being applied even though it’s supposed to be completely translucent it made my skin look very light, almost that white you get in your face when you’re sick, so I’d have to reapply bronzer and blush to look more alive and less zombie-ish lol.

Another issue I have is the packaging, this container is kinda big for me to take it with me on the go, and even if I did the lid doesn’t stay on to well so most of the time there’s white powder wherever this thing goes. Also, when I try to get powder out from the bottom, regardless of what I do there’s always powder getting everywhere, so I’m losing product in my purse, on the counter, you name it! This is a loose powder so I undertsand there will be some spillage but the amount of spillage with this product is a bit ridiculous in my opinion, if I end up with powder all over my counter just from opening it then that’s a big problem with me.

Here’s my final review…

Price:

9/10 For $6 it’s a steal, but with how much product you lose just trying to apply or in travel I feel like I’m getting jipped on product.

Product:

7/10 It does leave a nice matte finish, and left my skin feeling baby soft for hours but it left a white veil over my face and made me look like a zombie!

Packagaing:

3/10 The container looks nice but looks can be deceiving! It’s a little clunky and big to be used for in the go touch-ups, and if youย do carry this in your purse beware of powder spilling in your purse. The only good thing about the packaging is the nice powder puff included, it’s very soft and sturdy. The lid doesn’t stay on to well and I find myself having to put tape over the lid for extra security.

I won’t be buying this product again, and probably won’t even use the rest of what I have :(.

Have you tried this powder, if so what was your opinion of this product?

Hope you lovely nerds had a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “HD Powder Leaving My Skin in Standard Definiton

  1. I always hear good things about this about this powder and wanted to try it but never have because I was too scared I’d get the white veil lol. I’ve read that using a very light touch is the key but it seems kind of intimidating. Plus the packaging sounds like a nightmare!

Leave a Reply

