Ranting & Reviewing

Sorry I’ve been slacking on my posts the past couple days, I’ve been dealing with a lot of health issues and been trying to get better first. Now that I’m doing well enough, onto my post :)!

Last week when I received my new NYX palette they also included a catalog of their Spring/Summer 2012 Collection. I was so ecstatic to see the new goodies coming out that I made a list of my future purchases.

image

Here are the things on my future order list (I had to use my camera because I couldn’t find a single picture of these online).

image

These palettes are too cute and I love the Spring colors.

image

image

The Curve honestly looks pretty odd but I am quite curious as to how effective this might be for anyone who has trouble with liquid liner application.

Now, on to my rant, it’s not much of one but annoying nonetheless. The catalog has no indication whatsoever as to when these new products will be available for purchase. No problem I’ll just check the website! Nothing there either. It’s a little disappointing only because I know once this goes up on their site these items will probably go fast. I don’t want to check every day to finally know when it’ll be available, I don’t have that kind of time :(.    

I just wish they had a better indication of the release date, not just for me, but for their other loyal   customers as well.

Now my review! I recently purchased Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara in Jet Black from ULTA as part of their 21 Days Of Beauty Steals. I do adore a lot of Smashbox’s products, especially their Studio Skin foundation, so I was happy to purchase this. I’m still on the fence about this product.

Pros

It has a pretty decent application as far as it doesn’t come out in gobs of mess. It claims to lengthen and trust me it certainly does! I don’t use lengthening mascara cause I don’t really need the extra length, but for someone who wants this they will be quite pleased.

Cons

I don’t have a lot of bad things to say about this product, but they’re pretty big in my opinion. This product claims to volumize and lengthen, and while it does lengthen I saw no volume at all. I had to apply 4-5 coats to see any kind of volume and even then it’s not much, if any. By then it starts to clump and then I have the dreaded tarantula eye!

The only other negative thing I have to say about this product is the wand. I have sensitive eyes and in the past when I’ve used fiber wands they really irritated my eyes and made my eyes red. This thankfully didn’t do that, but it did make my eyes itchy.

Would I buy this product again?
No. It didn’t deliver much of what I wanted and for $19 I can buy more useful products. It’s not a horrible mascara, I just wouldn’t buy it again. I will keep it as a backup mascara for days I want a natural look with no va va voom volume.

What’s your favorite mascara?

Happy Hump Day!

Mandee

2 thoughts on “Ranting & Reviewing

Leave a Reply

